Annual Congregational Meeting First Presbyterian Church Charlottesville, Virginia August 27, 2023

The annual meeting of First Presbyterian Church along with the annual meeting of First Presbyterian Church of Charlottesville, Incorporated was held on August 27, 2023, in the Sanctuary.

With a quorum present, Rev. Dr. Aram Feinberg called the congregational meeting to order at 10:12 a.m., noted that Clerk of Session Judy Blair, would serve as secretary, and opened with prayer. The call of the meeting, set by the Session on May 24, 2023, and duly announced, was in order. As moderator, Dr. Feinberg reviewed the agenda and then recognized Bonnie Brewer, Diana Chambers, David Hamer, Alice Moat, John Warren, Katherine Warren, Nelson Yarbrough, and Sandra Yarbrough as 50-year members.

The annual report had been distributed in advance of the meeting, and two areas of church activities were highlighted.

- Through a large screen display of photos, Dr. Feinberg showed our mission partner support in action. The congregation was encouraged to view the photo display and information about each of our mission partners on the wall near the elevator on the main floor.
- Ruling Elder David Maloney described our memorial garden renovation project and the establishment of the Memorial Garden Endowment.
 - o The estimated \$215,000 cost of the renovation, which includes hardscape enhancements as well as new plantings, is underwritten by designated gifts; we have received \$115,000 to date. A formal rededication of the Garden is planned for November.
 - o By establishing a special endowment fund, perpetual care of the Garden is ensured. The fund's income will cover routine maintenance expenses as well as capital items that may arise. Primarily because of a recent bequest, the current fund balance is \$132,000.
 - o Contributions to the renovation or to the endowment fund are welcomed.

As chair of the Finance and Administration Committee, David Maloney presented the Finance Report. After recognizing the members of the Finance and Administration Committee, Dr. Maloney shared his view that the Faith Grows Here name for the building capital campaign reflected how this faith community leaned into a vision that was not always clear but one that we were called to pursue. He displayed a chart summarizing the \$7.3 million project cost and the generous contributions and commitments of \$5.8 million in cash received to date, \$940,000 drawn from church reserves, and \$660,000 in pledges to be received over the next 2 ½ years. Dr. Maloney highlighted how we have steadily paid down the \$2.6 million in loans required to manage cash flow during the project: our current loan balance of \$600,000 will be paid off as the remaining pledges are fulfilled.

Dr. Maloney then displayed a chart showing the 2022 operating budget versus the year's actual revenues and expenditures and showing the 2023 budget. He pointed out that faithful giving in 2022 exceeded expectations, and we had an operating net of nearly \$89,000. Session approved allocating 75% of the net to the building reserve and 25% to the operating

reserve. The total for these two reserves along with the emergency and organ reserves was over \$607,000 at the end of 2022. The 2023 operating budget has \$1,339,000 in revenue and \$1,338,553 in expenditures. It was based on the assumption that our faith community would continue on the path of offering robust programming, and the congregation responded with pledge commitments for 2023 that were 10% higher than the previous year.

Dr. Feinberg introduced Mark Roberson, who chaired the 2023 Nominating Committee. Mr. Roberson recognized the committee members and thanked them for their diligent work.

On behalf of the 2022 Nominating Committee, Mr. Roberson nominated the following to serve 3-year terms as Ruling Elders:

Class of 2026: Allen Bailey, David Bear, Tim Blair, Lori Chapman, Hannah Crosby, Kevin Dean, and David Pettit

With no nominations from the floor, a motion that the congregation close the nominations for Ruling Elder was made on behalf of the 2023 Nominating Committee; no second was required, and the motion carried. A motion to approve the nominees for Ruling Elder was made; no second was required, and the motion carried.

Mr. Roberson, on behalf of the 2023 Nominating Committee, nominated the following to serve 3-year terms as Deacons:

Class of 2026: Mary Wyatt Bowers, Jill Campbell, Luke Divine, Sheila Hegwood, Susan Morville, Jerry Otis, and Keith Thomson

With no nominations from the floor, a motion that the congregation close the nominations for Deacon was made on behalf of the 2023 Nominating Committee; no second was required, and the motion carried. A motion to approve the nominees for Deacon was made; no second was required, and the motion carried.

On behalf of the current nominating committee, Mr. Roberson nominated the following to serve on the 2024 Nominating Committee: Anne Bear, Jane Brennan, Sally Clarry, Terry Forbes, Jean Hudson, Jocelyn Kelley, Brooke Lambert, Brooke Lemieux, Debbie McPhillips, Marta Ruggles, and Caitlin Thomson.

With no nominations from the floor, a motion that the congregation close the nominations for the 2024 Nominating Committee was made on behalf of the 2023 Nominating Committee; no second was required, and the motion carried. A motion to approve the nominees to serve as members of the 2024 Nominating Committee was made; no second was required, and the motion carried.

Dr. Feinberg invited Ruling Elder Robert Brewbaker to serve as moderator *pro tem* for the remainder of the congregational meeting and departed the Sanctuary.

Moderator *pro tem* Brewbaker invited Ruling Elder Victoria Kean, chair of the Personnel Committee, to present the Personnel Report. Mrs. Kean recognized the members of the committee and reminded the congregation that they would be voting on changes to the terms of call of our installed pastors and that the Covenant Pastor's compensation and responsibilities were defined in an agreement between Session and the Covenant Pastor.

Mrs. Kean referenced the elements of terms of call, and the following presentation charts

compared current and proposed terms of call:

Rev. Dr. Aram Feinberg, Associate Pastor

<u>Compensation</u>	<u>Current</u>	<u>Proposed</u>
Salary and Housing	\$72,625	\$75,530
SECA Reimbursement	5,556	<u>5,778</u>
Total Compensation	\$78,181	\$81,308
<u>Benefits</u>		
Board of Pensions estimate	\$28,324	\$29 457
Reimbursable allowances	\$3,000	\$3,000
Vacation/ Continuing Ed	4 wks/ 2 wks	4 wks/ 2 wks

Rev. Dr. David Forney, Pastor

<u>Compensation</u>	<u>Current</u>	<u>Proposed</u>
Salary and Housing	\$141,531	\$145,192
SECA Reimbursement	10,827	11,107
Total Compensation	\$152,358	\$156,299
<u>Benefits</u>		
Board of Pensions estimate	\$48,653	\$50,386
Reimbursable allowances	\$10,000	\$12,000
Vacation/ Continuing Ed	4 wks/ 2 wks	4 wks/ 2 wks

A motion was made on behalf of the Personnel Committee that the congregation approve the proposed changes in terms of call for Pastor David Forney and Associate Pastor Aram Feinberg, effective September 1, 2023; no second was required. A question was raised about any changes to the pastors' responsibilities. After an explanation that responsibilities had not changed, the motion carried with a unanimous voice vote.

Moderator *pro tem* Brewbaker asked for a motion directing Session to review and approve the minutes of this meeting. Such motion was made, seconded, and approved.

There being no other congregational business, Moderator *pro tem* Brewbaker adjourned the meeting with prayer at 10:39 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Clerk Judy Blair

Approved 9.25.23